Gig list

There’s some other, more chatty, news over on my News page, or just read on for gigs.

 2018 dates

Saturday 24th February 2018: Borderbox, Oswestry, Shropshire – a day of workshops and an evening concert, with Rees Wesson and Tony Weatherall. My subject was tunes in polka timing from England (Suffolk), Ireland (Cork) and Newfoundland and how they vary from country to country.

Friday 9th March 2018: Unicorn Ceilidhs, Baldock, Hertfordshire – Valiant Dance Band

Sunday 20th May: Weird and Wonderful Wood, Haughley Park, Suffolk – informal music under the trees at this lovely laid-back event.

Friday 22nd – Sunday 24th June: English Country Music Weekend, Staffordshire. A mighty seed-bed for traditional music for over forty years.

Friday 3rd -Thursday 9th August 2018: Sidmouth Folk Week, Devon – PolkaWorks  10th birthday ceilidh (Monday 6th);  Valiant Dance Band Next Step ceilidh (Tuesday 7th); Around the World in 80 Minutes (Wednesday 8th) and other special events; Martin Brinsford & Katie Howson Woodlands Hotel etc

Saturday 18th August:  FolkEast, Suffolk – Valiant Dance Band ceilidh and book launch for “The Brightest of Entertainers”.

Monday 20th – Wednesday 22nd August: Whitby Folk Week, Yorkshire – PolkaWorks

Monday 27th August: Towersey Festival, Oxfordshire – Valiant Dance Band & PolkaWorks 

Saturday 29th September 2018: GBH Ceilidhs, Godalming, Surrey – PolkaWorks

Saturday 6th October 2018:  Traditional Suffolk Night Out, Brome Village Hall, nr Eye, Suffolk  

Friday 19th October 2018:  Knees Up Ceilidhs, Cecil Sharp House, Camden, London – Valiant Dance Band

Saturday 10th November 2018: Armistice Centenary Concert, Covent Garden, London – with Liz Giddings & Roger Digby 

Saturday 17th – Sunday 18th November 2018: Supersqueeze Weekend, Witney, Oxfordshire – three workshops: Stretching Your Fingers (B/I); East Anglian Stepdance Tunes (I/H); In the Mood -expressing yourself through traditional music (I/H). Plus Saturday evening concert spot.

Saturday 15th December: SHOCC Ceilidh Eastleigh, Hampshire – PolkaWorks

 

2019 dates

Saturday 16th February 2019:  Ceilidhs on the Move, Clopton, Suffolk – Valiant Dance Band

Friday 8th March 2019: Norfolk Ceilidhs, Norwich, Norfolk – Valiant Dance Band

Saturday 5th October 2019:  GBH Ceilidhs, Godalming, Surrey – Valiant Dance Band

Like I said earlier, there’s some other chatty bits and pieces over on my News page!